The Cloisters

The Cloisters.
The Cloisters is a museum in Washington Heights in New York City featuring four covered walkways pieced together from several abandoned European monasteries and rebuilt in the United States. Specializing in European medieval architecture, sculpture and decorative arts, the museum has about five thousand works, most dating from the 12th to the 15th centuries. The varied objects include stone and wood sculptures, around three hundred panels of stained glass, and panel paintings, including the Early Netherlandish Mérode Altarpiece (c. 1422). Designed by architect Charles Collens, the museum houses medieval gardens, several indoor chapels and thematic display spaces. Two rooms are dedicated to the tapestry series Nine Heroes (c. 1385) and The Hunt of the Unicorn (c. 1495–1505). Illuminated manuscripts displayed in the Treasury room include the Belles Heures of Jean de France, Duc de Berry (c. 1399–1416), attributed to the Limbourg brothers.

No comments